Blender World
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A New Computer....(maybe)?

+3
Xraygunner
BnBGobo99
zyzzy
7 posters

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

Go down

A New Computer....(maybe)? Empty A New Computer....(maybe)?

Post  zyzzy Tue Apr 17, 2012 7:52 pm

I'm thinking I may try to build myself a desktop PC for my blendering, that seems to be the only way to go, and although I've never done it before, after some research, and watching some how-to vids at Newegg.com, I think i can do it.

I know that this has been discussed to death on every blender forum dating back to 1873, but has anybody got any advice?

The common advice seems to be "go with the most you can afford" and "bigger is always better", but any specifics anybody could give would be appreciated, either blender-specific, or PC building in General.

i'm seriously considering using Linux, quite probably the blender boot build optimized for blender.

Anyway, just in the research stage now, hopefully I can get started later this year.

Thanks
zyzzy
zyzzy
Admin

https://blenderworld.forumotion.com

Back to top Go down

A New Computer....(maybe)? Empty Graphics Card

Post  BnBGobo99 Tue Apr 17, 2012 8:12 pm

The only advice I can give is that if you are serious about Linux and sticking with Blender I would go with NVidia. The ATI vs. NVidia fanboy battle is just as old as Apple vs. Microsoft, but from personal experience with both I have had less problems with NVidia than ATI when it comes to Linux and Blender (both separately, not Linux AND Blender together, but both Linux and Blender individually).

I currently use NVidia GeForce GTX 260 1.25GB. It might be different now, but when I installed Ubuntu I chose to enable the free but proprietary driver to enable all the card's features. The driver might be open-source now, but it's hard to live a truly open-source life (especially from a codec standpoint).
BnBGobo99
BnBGobo99